What’s On My Mind? The Homogenization of Facebook and Twitter

As an avid user of both Facebook and Twitter, I often get the question from non-Twitter adopters “what’s the difference between that and Facebook’s status?” For me, there has been a world of difference. I simply use the two for different purposes. Facebook is a place where I communicate with people I know in real life (meaning I’ve interacted with in person at some point during my life, even if some I haven’t spoken with in 15 years), whereas Twitter has been my medium to interact mainly with people I don’t actually know, but have common interests with, or companies and brands I want to learn from. I see them very distinctly, and thus the type of information I share and the way in which I share it is unique to the medium.

Now Facebook has gone ahead and Twittefied the Wall stream. While I think that this will make Facebook more about sharing content and ideas more easily, I fear that statuses will become the central repository for all content rather than through designated sections such as Photos, Notes, etc.

I like most aspects of the new Facebook layout (though I am confused by the “Highlights” sidebar on the homepage) but they should have stuck with “What are you doing?” for a lead-in to status updates. Twitter, on the other hand, is less about “doing” and more about “thinking” and should have been the social medium to change the lead-in to “What’s on your mind?”

Simultaneous with the new Facebook homepage and profile UI, and the growth of Twitter, I see more of my friends on Facebook linking the publication of their posts through aggregators. I think this is a mistake as well and will ultimately lead to complete homogenization of the two platforms, not to mention a lot of noise. Now I’m seeing @twitterusername and hashtags in Facebook updates, which is completely irrelevant to the network. I guess it’s a great viral marketibg tool for Twitter, though, since the only way to understand these new posts are to join Twitter. Then would we still need Facebook?

This entry was posted in Facebook, Social Media, Twitter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

