Now Drinking: Lagunitas New Dog Town Pale Ale

“Think Globally, Drink Locally” – Laguintas Brewing Company

Tonight I ventured into my corner bodega, which touts itself as a “Specialty Beer Store” with over 500 beers. After the devastation of the Ghana loss in the World Cup, I was in the mood to try a new beer. As I scanned the rows of six packs my eyes fell upon Laguintas. I’ve tried their Copper Ale previously, and as a lover of ales I knew I liked it. But I wanted something new. Kind of like pizza and Mexican food, I’m always in the mood for a pale ale. I’ve rarely found one I disliked. IPAs are my staple. I thought about getting their signature IPA, but I’ve been a little heavy on the IPAs lately, so I went with the New Dogtown Pale Ale. Much to my pleasure, New Dogtown is as satisfying — a very smooth ale with just the slightest spicy kick in the aftertaste.

Below is some background on Laguintas and New Dogtown.

The Brewery

From Wikipedia:

The Lagunitas Brewing Company is a brewery founded in 1993 in Lagunitas, California, USA. They are known for iconoclastic interpretations of traditional beer styles, and irreverent descriptive text and stories on their packaging. Lagunitas Brewing’s flagship, IPA, is consistently the best-selling IPA in the state of California according to IRI, the widely cited consumer product reporting company.

The Beer

From Laguintas.com:

12 fluid ounces of Malt, Hops, Yeast, and water. We at the Lagunitas Brewing Company hope you enjoy this genuinely handmade ale. A lot of hard work and enthusiasm go into every aspect of brewing this Mondo Ultra Mega Super Premium Ale. From building the brewery itself to putting the cap on each and every bottle, virtually every step was done by hand. Take a Virtual Taste.

You can follow them on Twitter at @LagunitasT and @LagunitasBruhws

Reviews

From By the Pint:

The New Dogtown Pale Ale is a dry, bitter Pale that manages to pack in a bit of flavor between the overpowering hops. There is some sweet and tangy citrus in this beer but it’s completely overpowered by the dry hops that coat your mouth just as you pick up on those sweet flavors. If hops if your flavor of choice then you’ll probably like this beer, otherwise don’t bother.

Hops is my flavor of choice, so I like this beer quite a bit, but I disagree that they are “overpowering.” In fact, I find the hops to be quite subtle and the sweetness stands out to me. Hmm, are we drinking the same beer?

On Beeradvocate.com it gets mostly “A” reviews. One such reviewer says:

hints of grapfruit very apparent in the smell and taste. slightly bitter, sweet and tart finish. long flavor duration. way better than i would’ve expected. very different and exciting to the palate. great brew i would definitely drink again.

Verdict: if you like a hoppy beer (though not “overwhelmingly” hoppy, in my opinion) with some sweetness and spice, you should definitely pick this one up.

Any recommendations for my next beer to try and feature? Comment and let me know!

This entry was posted in Beers of California, Pale Ales, The Beer Tour and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Now Drinking: Lagunitas New Dog Town Pale Ale

  1. john hoosier says:

    LSU,being one of the greatest universitiesin America is being done a great disservice by keeping les bumpkin miles employed.Dooley,Fischer,Pellini all slipped thru our grasp,as we attained this idiot.Some of the greatest athletes in the country come hereonly to be hurt by imbecilic coaching.Like it or not,Saban is responsible for our last 2 championships.With a mediocre quarterback who can throw to his ownplayers,agood high school coach,we would be at the top.Chavis comes with phil fulmers reccomendation,ha-ha,that says alot.We are absent brains in the coaching dept. WE are employing idiots. I think back ,when shaq was at lsu, bobby knight,was down with his hoosiers,getting beat by 13,2 minutes left he knew it was over till he looked and saw dale brown and knew he would win.My memory is not perfect but u get the point. I am ashamed to say that last night,after enjoying a 30-10 score,i turned against the tigers for the only time in mylife and pulled for butch davis,because of his far superior intellect compared to miles.Ship chavis back to rocky top,tell miles u r awarding him an all expenses paid bus trip to Europe,(he won”t know better),and see if he can convince skooter hobbs to go with him. Attain a decent high school coach,an average skilled quarterback with intelligence,(mauck,Flynn type} and a number 1 ranking will be at hand. I am john hoosier of lake charles and i approve this message.

  2. john hoosier says:

    send to espn and american press of lake charles

Leave a Reply

